Updated 8:44 AM EDT, Wed, Aug 18, 2021

Make CT Your Homepage

2015 FIFA Women's World Cup Final: USA Defeats Defending Champion Japan 5-2

2015 FIFA Women's World Cup Final

(Photo : Getty Images) VANCOUVER, BC - JULY 05: Carli Lloyd #10 of the United States of America celebrates after her third goal against Japan with goalkeeper Hope Solo #1 and Megan Rapinoe #15 in the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 Final at BC Place Stadium on July 5, 2015 in Vancouver, Canada.

Team USA has lifted the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada. The American ladies routed Japan 5-2 in a stellar display of skill in Vancouver on July 5. The third world title for Team USA came just a day after their countrymen celebrated their country's declaration of independence.

Like Us on Facebook

The champions routed title holders Japan with an impressive 5-2 score line. USA midfielder Carli Lloyd, led her team with an inspiring performance. Her outstanding play during the final and the rest of the month-long competition earned her the Adidas Golden Ball award.

Lloyd thrashed Japan with an impressive hat trick during the final. She drew first blood at only the 3rd minute then quickly demolished all of Japan's hopes by scoring again just two minutes later. USA was up 2-0 within the first five minutes thanks to Lloyd's magical boots.

Japan looked visibly shaken after the disastrous start to their title defense. Lauren Holiday of the Stars and Stripes locked onto a loose ball on the 14th minute to find the back of the net yet again. Lloyd sealed Japan's fate when she completed her hat trick within a span of only 13 minutes. She found the back of the net on the 16th, handing her team a 4-0 lead after less than a quarter of the game's duration.

Japan could already see their title slipping away from them but they were not giving up so easily. Yuki Ogimi tried to inspire a comeback by beating American superstar Hope Solo at the other end of the pitch. She maintained her composure and scored effortlessly in the 27th minute.

The adrenaline ran high and five goals had already been scored when the halftime whistle was blown. When play resumed, Japan had another chance to come back into the game after Julie Johnston inadvertently helped Aya Miyami score by deflecting her shot. The deflected ball flew past Solo and allowed Japan to pull closer to USA's lead.

Lauren Heath didn't allow any thoughts of a comeback to blossom in the Japanese players' minds. In the 54th minute, she sealed the deal with a close-range goal giving the USA a 3-goal marigin. USA led 5-2 ten minutes after play resumed and the scoreline stayed the same until the final whistle.

Team USA are now FIFA Women's World Cup Champions in 1991, 1999 and 2015. "It feels so good. It was incredible. This is surely the peak of my career," said USA goalkeeper Hope Solo. The win feels especially significant for her after she was largely responsible for Team USA's loss to Japan in a penalty shootout in the 2011 final. "Everything has come together at the right time," she concluded. 

Real Time Analytics