Kim Soo-hyun and Go Du-shim Bag KBS Top Honor

By | Jan 05, 2016 10:06 AM EST
Kim Soo Hyun Press Conference

Kim's claim to fame was his role in the fantasy-romance drama You Who Came From the Stars, a story of an alien from outer space who fell for a top actress on earth.(Photo : Ashley Pon/Getty Images)

Actors Kim Soo-hyun and Go Du-Shim took the Daesang at the KBS Drama Awards. The Daesang (or Grand Prize) is the highest award given to an actor.

Kim Soo-hyun's stirring performance in Producers, the office drama set in the entertainment department of a fictional KBS, enabled him to garner the top prize for the male category. Kim's role was the freshly-minted producer Baek Seung-chan in the 15-part series drama. It ran for 15 weeks and ended in June last year.  He also received two other awards: International Netizens' Award and Best Couple Award.

Like Us on Facebook

Kim's claim to fame was his role in the fantasy-romance drama You Who Came From the Stars, a story of an alien from outer space who fell for a top actress on earth. The drama became a huge hit, enough to enable Kim's popularity to reach even Mainland China. Together with co-star Jun Ji-hyun, Kim became popular actor among the young Chinese people.

Veteran actress Go Du-Shim, meanwhile, received the Daesang for her role in Please, Mom. A respected actress,  she celebrated her fortieth year as an actress in 2012. She won critical raves for portraying atypical roles in the films Jealousy (1983), My Mother, The Mermaid (2004), Family Ties (2006), and Good Morning President (2009).

Here is the complete list of the winners:

Daesang (Grand Prize): Go Du-shim (Please, Mom) and Kim Soo-hyun (The Producers)

Top Excellence, Actor: So Ji-sub (Oh My Venus)

Top Excellence, Actress: Chae Shi-ra (Unkind Women)

Excellence Awards:

Serial Drama, Actor: Kim Tae-woo (Jingbirok) and  Kim Gab-soo (Please, Mom)

Serial Drama, Actress: Eugene (Please, Mom)

Mid-length Drama, Actor: Jang Hyuk (Master of Trade-Inn 2015)

Mid-length Drama, Actress: Kim Min-jung (Master of Trade-Inn 2015)

Miniseries, Actor: Cha Tae-hyun (The Producers)

Miniseries, Actress: Shin Mina (Oh My Venus)

Daily Drama, Actor: Im Ho (Shine Like a Star) and Kwak Shi-yang (It'll Be Okay)

Daily Drama, Actress: Han Chae-ah (My One and Only Love) and Kang Byul (Protect the Family)

Supporting Actor: Kim Kyu-chul (Jingbirok, Master of Trade-Inn 2015) and Park Bo-gum (I Remember You)

Supporting Actress: Kim Seo-hyung (Assembly) and Uhm Hyun-kyung (Bluebird's House, It'll Be Okay)

Actor of the Year, awarded by PDs from all three broadcasters: Kim Hye-ja (Unkind Women)

Newcomer Award, Actor: Yeo Jin-gu (Orange Marmalade)

Newcomer Award, Actress: Kim So-hyun (Who Are You-School 2015) and Chae Soo-bin (Bluebird's House, Sassy Go Go)

Netizens' Award: Kim Soo-hyun (The Producers) and Kim So-hyun (Who Are You-School 2015)

Popularity Award: Park Bo-gum (I Remember You), Nam Joo-hyuk (Who Are You-School 2015), Seolhyun (Orange Marmalade) and Jo Boa (Please, Mom)

One-Act Special, Actor: Bong Tae-kyu (Trains Don't Stop at Noryangjin Station)

One-Act Special, Actress: Kim Young-ok (Snowy Road) and Lee Hana (Fake Family)

Youth Actor: Choi Kwon-soo (Those Brothers' Summer) and Kim Hyang-gi (Snowy Road)

Best Couple: Yook Sung-jae & Kim So-hyun (Who Are You-School 2015), So Ji-sub & Shin Mina (Oh My Venus), Jang Hyuk & Han Chae-ah (Master of Trade-Inn 2015), Kim Soo-hyun & Gong Hyo-jin & Cha Tae-hyun (The Producers)

Writer Award: Kim In-young (Unkind Women)

©2019 Chinatopix All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission


Sign up for our free weekly newsletter for the latest in-depth coverage!

Real Time Analytics